

Past Recipients of IAOM Awards and Scholarship

1. President's Award Past Recipients

About this Award: The President's Award may be given annually to a member who has displayed outstanding dedication and service to the Association. The selection will be made at the discretion of the President of the IAOM.

- 1977 Marvin Hanson, Ph.D., COM®
- 1979 Becky Winchell, BA., COM®
- 1980 Richard Barrett, M.Ed., COM®
- 1980 Anita Barrett
- 1981 Galen Peachey, M.Ed., COM®
- 1983 Darlene Robertson, MA., COM®
- 1985 Dianna Zimmerman, M.Ed., COM®
- 1985 Joseph Zimmerman, M.Ed., COM®
- 1987 Roberta Pierce, M.A.T., COM®
- 1989 Patricia McLoughlin, MA., COM®
- 1991 Gayle Snyder, MA., COM®
- 1992 Catherine Jackson, M.S.P.A., COM®
- 1995 Honor Franklin, Ph.D., COM®
- 1996 Kimberly Benkert, BS., COM®
- 1997 Paulette Bergounous, MS., COM®
- 1998 Sam Egdorf
- 1998 Joan Egdorf, MA., COM®
- 2000 Julie Zickefoose, BA., COM®

1. President's Award Past Recipients continued:

2000 - William E. Zickefoose, BA., COM®

2001 - Dianne Fonssagrives, MS.CCC-SLP, COM®

2005 - Licia Coceani Paskay, MS., COM®

2009 – Licia Coceani Paskay, MS., COM®

2011- Dianne Fonssagrives, MS, CCC-SLP, COM®

2012- Emily Clayton, MS., COM®

2012- Marjorie L. Snow, RDH, MA., COM®

2013- Sandra Holtzman, MS, CCC-SLP, COM®

2014- Barbara Erskine, MS, CCC-SLP, COM®

In 2004, awards were presented to the following individuals for recognition of outstanding achievements in providing communication to our members.

Joan Egdorf, MA., COM®, IAOM Webmaster

Donna Grant, MA., IAOM Newsletter Editor

Patricia Taylor, M.Ed., COM®, IJOM Editor

2. Richard H. Barrett Past Recipients

About this Award: The Richard H. Barrett Award may be awarded at the discretion of the Board of Directors for contributions in orofacial myology research.

1981 - Marvin Hanson, Ph.D., COM®

1989 - Robert Mason, Ph.D., D.M.D.

1996 - Gloria Kellum, Ph.D.

2000 - Toshihide Ohno, D.D.S.

2000 - Hideharu Yamaguchi, D.D.S.

2005 - Irene Queiroz Marchesan, Ph.D.

2010 - Jayanti Ray

2010 - Adrianna Rahal

2010 - Esther Bianchini

2. Richard H. Barrett Past Recipients continued:

2011- Nancy Solomon

2011- Pascal van Lieshout

2012- Heather Clark

2020- Diane Bahr, MS, CCC-SLP, CIMI

3. IAOM President's Plaque Past Recipients:

About this Award: On June 25, 1983, President, Dr. John Howland, presented a special award entitled, the "IAOM President's Plaque" to Becky Winchell for her outstanding term of office. This award was presented at the Annual Business Meeting in Chicago, Illinois.

1983 - Becky Winchell, BA., COM® 2009 – Emily Clayton, MA., COM® 2018- Kristie Gatto, MA, CCC-SLP, COM®

4. Rosemarie Van Norman Prevention Award Past Recipients:

About this Award: The Rosemarie A. Van Norman Award for Prevention has been established by the IAOM Board as a tribute to Rosemarie's dedication regarding the science and strategies of preventing orofacial myofunctional disorders. At the discretion of the Board and with input from the membership, this Award will be presented to professionals who distinguish themselves in continuing Rosemarie's professional legacy.

2011- Shari Green, BA, RDH, COM®

2020- Patricia Brinkman-Falter, BSDH, RDH, MS, C-GIS, COM®

5. Unique Contribution Past Recipients:

About this Award: On June 26, 1987, the IAOM Board of Directors presented a special award to Mr. William E. Zickefoose in recognition and appreciation of his unique contributions toward the founding and advancement of the International Association of Orofacial Myology.

1987 - William E. Zickefoose, BA.

On June 26, 1987, the IAOM Board of Directors presented a special award to Mr. Robert Grider and his wife, Amy, in appreciation for all of their hard work in making the. Newsletter the excellent communication medium that it has become.

1997 - Robert Grider, MS. and Amy Grider

5. Unique Contribution Past Recipients continued:

On October 16, 2009, the IAOM Board of Directors presented a special award to Marjorie Snow in appreciation of the continual leadership that she has shown in the association and the field of orofacial myology.

2009 - Marjorie Snow, MA., COM® 2011 - Robert M. Mason, Ph.D., DMD 2014- Karen Samuel, RDH, COM® 2020- Patricia "Pat" Taylor, M.Ed., CCC-SLP,COM®

6. The Golden Gavel Award Past Recipients:

About this Award: On June 29, 1987, the Golden Gavel Award was established to honor an IAOM President who, during his/her presidency, demonstrated extraordinary dedication, leadership and significant contributions while fulfilling the responsibilities of this presidency. The recipient of this award shall be selected by the IAOM Board of Directors only when special recognition is deemed appropriate.

```
1987- Joseph B. Zimmerman, M.Ed., COM®
```

1991 - Galen L. Peachey, M.Ed., COM®

1997 - Sylvia Zante, MA., COM®

1999 - Marjorie Snow, MA., COM®

2001 - Patricia G. Meyer, MA., COM®

2003 - Dianne Fonssagrives, MS, CCC-SLP, COM®

2005 - Anita Weinfield, MA., COM®

2009 – Debora Rocha Munoz, BS, COM®

2018- Mary Billings, MS, CCC-SLP, COM®

7. The Connie Painter Distinguished Service Award Past Recipients:

About this Award: In 1992, the IAOM Board of Directors established a special award in memory of Connie Painter. This award may be presented to a person who has been dedicated to the IAOM.

1992 - Marjorie Snow, MA., COM®

1995 - Patricia Grant, MA., COM®

7.The Connie Painter Distinguished Service Award Past Recipients continued:

- 1996 Becky Winchell, BA., COM®
- 1997 Clara Mae Rydell, MS., COM®
- 1998 Patricia G. Meyer, MA., COM®
- 1999 April Gelesko, RN., COM®
- 2000 Roberta Pierce, M.A.T., COM®
- 2001 Kimberly Benkert, M.P.H., COM®
- 2005 Joseph Zimmerman, M.Ed., COM®
- 2007 Mario Bondi, D.D.S.
- 2011- Mary A. Billings, MS, CCC-SLP, COM®
- 2011- Karen J. Samuel, RDH, COM®
- 2012- Debora Rocha Munoz, BS, COM®
- 2012- Pat Taylor, M.ED, CCC-SLP, COM®
- 2012- Anita Weinfield, MA., COM®
- 2012- Dianne Fonssagrives, MS, CCC-SLP, COM®
- 2012- Becky Ellsworth, BA, COM®
- 2012- Anita Weinfield, MA, COM®
- 2014- Dianah Davidson, BS, RDH, COM®
- 2014- Sara Lee Wheeler, MA, CCC-SLP, COM®
- 2018- Dana Hockenbury, MA, CCC-SLP, COM®
- 2020- Fabi Moy, MA, CCC-SLP, COM®
- 2020- Rebecca Thorsen, MS, CCC-SLP, COM®

8. The Anita Weinfield Outstanding Mentorship Memorial Award

About this Award: In 2017, to honor her memory and dedication to the IAOM over 3 decades, the IAOM, under the direction of its Board of Directors, established The Anita Weinfield Outstanding Mentorship Memorial Award. This award was created to acknowledge the dedication of an IAOM member who consistently serves as an effective mentor for the organization by supporting, educating, and guiding new members in their ongoing role as Certified Orofacial Myologists®, while also cultivating the vision and mission of the IAOM.

2018- Dana Mattson, MA, CCC-SLP, COM®

2020- Marge Foran, RDH, COM®